Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Share |

Get Engaged!  ASNM Needs You!

For members interested in joining a committee, please click a below link, then "Join Group". You must be signed in to join. 

Education Committee
Board Liaisons: Joe Moreira and Larry Wierzbowski
Focus:  Meeting programs and Webinars

Finance Committee
Board Liaison: Brett Netherton
Focus:  Budget Creation, Cost/Benefit Analysis as Aligned with ASNM Vision

Guidelines and Standards of Care
Board Liaison: Gene Balzer
Focus:  Updating Current Position Paper, Developing New Guidelines

Membership Committee
Board Liaison:  Leah Hanson
Focus:  Awards, Nominations, Membership Categories and Satisfaction

Representation and Advocacy 
Board Liaison: Eva Ritzl
Focus:  Educating Public, Credentialing Bodies, Hospitals, etc. on ASNM/IOM

Research Committee
Board Liaison: Robert Holdefer
Focus:  Evaluating Existing Literature, Suggesting Future Studies

Technology Committee
Board Liaison:  Trey Lee
Focus:  Within ASNM - Increase Value to Members Outside - To Improve IOM by Working with Vendors, etc.
In addition, ASNM is looking for our next representative to CoA-NDT and CAAHEP.
The Committee on Accreditation for Education in Neurodiagnostic Technology (CoA-NDT), evaluates and recommends NDT educational programs for accreditation to the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP). 

CAAHEP is a programmatic postsecondary accreditation agency recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).  CAAHEP carries out its mission and accrediting function in cooperation with nineteen review Committees on Accreditation (CoA).  While CAAHEP is the accreditor, the collaborating CoAs carry out the day-to-day work associated with the accreditation process.  It is the CoA for each discipline that reviews the self-studies, schedules the site visits, and prepares recommendations for the consideration of the CAAHEP Board of Directors.  There is only one CoA for any health science profession and each CoA is a member of CAAHEP.  The member CoAs commit to financial viability and agree to observe CAAHEP's policies and procedures and assure that their policies and procedures remain consistent with those of CAAHEP.


The Committee consists of the following sponsors of the  


  • American Academy of Neurology
  • American Clinical Neurophysiology Society
  • American Society of Neurophysiological Monitoring
  • ASET - The Neurodiagnostic Society 

While most of the programs are typical of those in hospital neurodiagnostic departments such as EEG, EP and so on, there can also be add-on programs in Intraoperative Neurophysiological Monitoring (IONM) Programs.  And last year, a new free-standing IONM Program accreditation was developed.  The coming years will see us working on accreditation applications from many programs already submitted or in process.


The two current ASNM representatives to the CoA-NDT are Bernie Cohen and Barb Tetzlaff.  The work of the committee is very intense all year and Bernie, who is the past Vice-Chair of the CoA will be transitioning off at the end of his current three-year term.  So we are beginning now to seek out interested people to develope the skills and expertise to succeed Bernie in this effort.  Clearly, the long term advance is intended to give the next ASNM representative a head start in the process.


If you are interested in being considered as Bernie's successor, please send him your CV and a statement about your background and skills that will help give proper consideration.  Your submission should be received by the end of December and all applicants will be reviewed prior to the next ASNM Board meeting in May 2015.


Send any questions and your details to: