The Mary Stecker Fund & Award

The Mary Stecker Fund is set up to assist relatively new practitioners of intra-operative neurophysiologic monitoring to attend the Annual Meeting of the ASNM. The amount of the award is typically $250 and is given to the recipient at the ASNM Annual Meeting Business Meeting. The money comes from the interest on the account. It is hoped that at least some of the interest each year goes back to the fund principle to allow for future inflation related increases in the award size. Typically, the fund will grant one award. However, additional contributions can be made each year that will allow for other awards.  

Past award winners include:

  • Sajjad Ali (2018)
  • Proel Perez Galdos (2016)
  • Ramesh Vijay (2015)
  • Jacobs (2014)
  • Cabrera Cousiño (2013)
  • McGiffert (2012)
  • Marat Avshalumov (2009)
  • Jankovic (2009)
  • Josh Mergos (2008)
  • Capetto (2007)
  • Ramesh Vijay (2005)

Richard Brown Award

In honor of Richard Brown's contributions to the field and to the society, The Richard Brown Award is bestowed upon those who have, throughout their career, exceptionally supported and substantially advanced the field of intraoperative neuromonitoring (IONM) and the American Society of Neurophysiological Monitoring (ASNM).

To learn more about any award or to make a nomination, please contact [email protected]

Fellow Members

Founder's Award

Awarded annually to an ASNM Member in good standing whose commitment to the profession of IONM is evidence by contributions to the society, contributions to the literature, and/or commitment to delivering the highest quality of patient care in IONM. Any member who is in good standing can nominate any other member in good standing.

Service Award

Awarded as needed but not more than annually to an ASNM Member in good standing who contributes significantly to the Society, now or in the past, through active participation on the Board and Committee work. Nomination is made exclusively by the Awards Subcommittee of the Membership Committee.

Outstanding Contribution to a Committee

Awarded annually to an ASNM Member in good standing whose contributions to a committee over the last year have been deemed above and beyond. Any member of a Standing Committee can nominate any other Standing Committee member.

Outstanding Publication in a Peer-Reviewed Journal

Awarded annually to an ASNM Member in good standing who made significant contributions to a published research paper which is deemed outstanding or important by the ASNM Research Committee. Paper must have been published within the previous calendar year (i.e., 2020 award for a paper published in 2019, whether in print or Epub ahead of print). Paper must be indexed in a peer-reviewed journal. Pay to publish papers, book chapters, book reviews, and letters to editors do not qualify. Nomination is made by the Research Committee.