Share |

The American Society of Neurophysiological Monitoring

The American Society of Neurophysiological Monitoring was founded in 1990 to serve the emerging field of neurophysiologic monitoring. As defined by the Society, neurophysiologic monitoring includes any measure employed to assess the ongoing functional integrity of the central or peripheral nervous system in the operating theatre or other acute care setting.

Intraoperative neurophysiological monitoring (IONM) has evolved over the last several decades. Its mission is protection of the patient’s nervous system. Neurophysiologic signals are monitored continuously during surgery for adverse changes, detection of which enables corrective action. Risk of postoperative neurological deficit, such as weakness, loss of sensation, hearing loss and impairment of other bodily functions is thereby reduced. In addition to detection of change, surgical guidance can be offered in specialized circumstances.

Members of the IONM team include but is not limited to: technologists, surgeons, nurses, anesthesiologists, neurophysiologists, and the supervising person. Team members are those who generate the setting & monitor the patient (technologists), identify the changes (technologists and monitoring personnel), institute management plans that involve surgical maneuvers (surgeons), physiological, pharmacological and anesthetic management (anesthesiologists), moving and repositioning of electrical equipment (nurses), and repositioning of the patient (surgeon, anesthesiologists, nurses).

With almost 1,000 members from around the world, The Society is dedicated to the advancement of quality neurophysiologic monitoring services for neuroprotection.


ASNM Past Presidents

2020 - Rich Vogel, PhD, DABNM, FASNM
2019 - Jeffrey Gertsch, MD
2018 - Joseph J. Moreira, MD
2017 - Jay Shils, PhD, DABNM, FASNM, FACNS
2016 - George R. "Trey" Lee, III, MD, MS
2015 - John McAuliffe, III, MD, MBA, DABNM, FAAP
2014 - Jack Hastings, MD
2013 - Antoun Koht, MD
2012 - Bernard Cohen, PhD
2011 - Michael McCaffrey, PhD
2010 - Richard Toleikis, PhD
2009 - Leo Towle, PhD



2008 - Robert Minahan, MD
2007 - Mark Stecker, MD, PhD
2006 - David Morledge, PhD
2005 - Michael Isley, PhD
2004 - Bernard Cohen, PhD
2003 - Jeffrey Balzer, PhD
2002 - Marc Bloom, MD
2001 - Michael McCaffrey, PhD
2000 - HB Calder, PhD
1999 - Richard Brown, PhD
1998 - Charles Yingling, PhD
1997 - Tod Sloan, MD, PhD
1996 - Gary Jacobson, PhD
1995 - Jeffrey Owen, PhD
1994 - Jeffrey Owen, PhD
1993 - Don York, PhD
1992 - Aage Moller, PhD
1991 - Jack Kartush, MD
1990 - Jack Kartush, MD (Founder)